Leads are like raw data. Duplicate leads may appear in the leads module as the same person could have few interest submissions. This is why you may need to merge leads to customers.
Jason Ding - A Residence
Jason Ding - B Residence
The above example could be the case when:
- The same person (potential buyer) participating in different campaigns
- Different salesperson from different region/project keying in the same person
In this case, we do not disallow the creation of the same record as this helps the salesperson to have a record of the interest or touch points. As a salesperson on the go, there might not be time to review duplicates as well. In this case, the merge lead to customer feature may be useful.
- Click on any lead
- Click Qualified at the right-end of the lead stages progress bar (learn more here)
- Select an Existing customer from the dropdown (inspect carefully which customer you would like to merge with)
- Fill in the information required
- Select a project or unit (optional)
- Mark it as a lost opportunity (optional) and provide a reason if, after contacting the lead, they are genuine but currently not interested
- Click Confirm
Example after merging:
Jason Ding - A Residence, B Residence
The lead data will be brought forward after merging the lead with an existing customer, as well as lead notes. Therefore, it's crucial for the salesperson to confirm the new lead data is valid and accurate before qualifying the lead.
During lead qualification, the user will be prompted with the required fields of the customer module, configured in All fields setting, to make sure data is cross-checked and validated.
For personal details, work details, emergency contact details and custom fields:
- if field required is empty in the existing data, the new data will be brought forward automatically
- if field required is empty in the new lead, the existing data will not be erased, and fields will not be shown during lead qualification
- if field required has a discrepancy with existing data, the new input confirmed by salesperson will be brought forward
For sales-related fields, if marked as required in All fields setting, will always be shown during lead qualification for the salesperson to update:
- Buyer type
- Consideration stage
For the submission data, will be brought forward as an opportunity:
The following fields in the existing customer record will not be overwritten:
- Added on/by
- Qualified on/by
Access roles like staff and agents will lose access to the customer record if none of the opportunities of the customer is assigned to them. They will then need to request a higher user access role to assign the opportunity to them accordingly to regain access.